Meet the Authors of Second Wind! Introducing Claire Collins

Standard

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be introducing the authors of Second Wind Publishing. We have some incredibly talented people and I’m proud to be part of the SW family!

First up, my dear friend and colleague, Tracy Beltran, writing under the name Claire Collins. Tracy is not only an incredible author, she’s co-publisher at Second Wind. Her drive and passion keep things moving forward. She is the heartbeat of Second Wind.

Claire/ Tracy’s books were the first two I reviewed. I fell in love with her style and ability to weave an incredibly intricate plot. If you love mystery with a hint of romance, her books are just the thing!

Dellani Oakes: When did you start writing?

Claire Collins: I started writing as soon as I could read. My mother always read to me when I was little and I memorized the books. I had such an active imagination that I would bring everything around me to life.

DO: What gave you the idea for your first book?

CC: I think someone dared me to write a whole novel. I had always written short stories, but a novel was a new challenge I couldn’t back down from.

DO: What genre do you write?

CC: My published works are both Romantic Suspense but I write across a lot of genres. I’d like to do more horror, but I’m not sure I want to try to compete against the masters. 

DO: What do you do to keep yourself focused?

CC: I focus in spurts. I haven’t been focused in awhile now. I write when the urge comes. A lot of real life interferes with my writing. 

DO: Do you stay with one project or do you work on multiple projects?

CC: I try to stay on one project, but if I hit a wall and something else is moving along, I move along with it.

DO: What is your writing process?

CC: Process? What process? There’s a process to this madness? 

DO: How do you find your voice?

CC: The voices find me and I write what they tell me to.

DO: Do you know your ending before you begin?

CC: Usually somewhere around the middle. When the story starts, it’s always something that is just forcing its way out of me. About halfway through, I figure out where we’re going.

DO: What is your latest release?

CC: Images of Betrayal was released in 2009. Seeds of September should be out in 2012.

DO: What other books do you have published?

CC: My first novel, Fate and Destiny was published in 2008 after a decade of working on it. 

DO: Where are your books available?

CC: Kindle, Amazon, Barnes and Noble for the Nook, http://www.secondwindpublishing.com, Barnhill’s bookstore in Winston-Salem

Images of Betrayal – Claire Collins initially seems like a romance novel. Tysan meets Walker, a handsome photographer, who shows her an alarming secret. His pictures show the future! Dubious, until events start coming true, Ty clings to Walker for help and support. But can those pictures hold something else more sinister?

This book is amazing. The plot has more twists and turns than a corkscrew. I thought I had it figured out, but every time I thought I knew the outcome, Collins gave me another twist. Fast paced an exciting, this story seems like it’s going one direction. In an unexpected twist, the story goes 360, then about another 180 degrees, spinning nearly out of control. An amazing thrill ride from start to finish.

Fate and Destiny – Like Collins’ other book, “Images of Betrayal”, “Fate and Destiny” blends a little romance with a whole lot of crime! Someone dropped Destiny out of a truck and into the snow. If Andrew hadn’t found her, she would have frozen to death. Who dumped her and why? Was it Fate that brought them together? If so, what else does Fate have in mind?

A wonderfully well crafted book that’s a delight to read. It charms and thrills from start to finish. An excellent choice for anyone who likes love and crime mixed together.

About dellanioakes

Dellani Oakes writes mostly romantic suspense novels, but she occasionally dives off the deep end into science fiction, fantasy or historical romance. When she isn't writing, she's editing, marketing or hosting her two Blog Talk Radio broadcasts: Dellani's Tea Time – every second Monday from 4-6 PM Eastern, or What's Write for Me – every fourth Wednesday from 4-6 PM Eastern, on Blog Talk Radio. Dellani has a new book coming out soon with Tirgearr. Look for So Much It Hurts November 1,2017. Dellani can be found on Facebook, Twitter and her personal blog

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

