Party With Rico Austin!

Standard

Introducing mi amigo, Rico Austin! A former football player, Rico decided to turn his hand not only to business, but to writing a book. His book, My Bad Tequila, is a great read! Rico has been a guest on my radio show, What’s Write for Me (link below) I think it’s safe to say he’s one of the most colorful characters I’ve ever had on my show.

I’m pleased and proud to have read Rico’s great book, My Bad Tequila, and to share his interview with you.

When did you start writing?

I, Rico Austin first began writing seriously as a seventh grader at age 13. I was elected as reporter for the “Eager Beaver 4-H Club” in Marsing, Idaho and started submitting weekly articles to the local newspaper. Then later was elected reporter for the local FFA chapter my freshman and sophomore year where I continued to expand my writing ability. As a freshman I took 3rd place in the Marsing High School essay contest titled “American Beef Farmers.”

Many years later I would become a professional freelance and feature writer for DAS TOR newspaper at Thunderbird, The American Graduate School of Global Management from 1996 – 1998. I also won the first and only writing essay at DAS TOR in March 1997. The essay asked contestants to propose ways for Thunderbird to be improved. Humor and using the knowledge of several countries that I had traveled to and a bit of wild innovation allowed me to secure the winning essay. One of the most serious assignments and pieces of journalism was reporting on the Winterim class 97 “US Foreign Economic Policy” in Washington DC including the opening of the 105th Congress and the Inauguration of the President of the United States – Mr. Bill Clinton.

What gave you the idea for your first book?

I took my first Spring Break Trip back in 1986 that I had saved for about a year when I attended Boise State University.

What genre do you write?

Fiction and Non-Fiction blending the two!

What do you do to keep yourself focused?

Writing at night is much easier for me, especially late at night when I’m sipping Margaritas or drinking Coronas. When I drink sometimes my mind is much more alive and artistic.

Do you stay with one project or do you work on multiple projects?

Pretty much one writing project at a time unless I have something to do with my employment and then whatever it takes.

What is your writing process?

No real process involved; I just sit down and start writing; after a chapter or two I will go back over it for my first edit, however I really do not change anything other than misspellings and punctuation.

How do you find your voice?

Well with the epic novel “My Bad Tequila” it was easy as my voice is My Actual Voice in the story.

Do you know your ending before you begin?

I thought I did; however, I was very fortunate in that my fingers took over and put the finishing touches at the end. I’ve been told several times that “My Bad Tequila” has one of the best surprise endings of all novels that some of my readers have read.

What is your latest release?

“My Bad Tequila” is my latest release and only novel.

What other books do you have published?

I was selected among several hundred writers and bloggers to help compile a booklet with
13 other prominent authors. “How to Create Credibility as a Freelancer – 70 Tips from a
Collection of Experts” was published in 12/2009.

Where are your books available?

“My Bad Tequila” is available at
http://www.Amazon.com http://www.BarnesAndNoble.com http://www.Powells.com http://www.BooksAMillion.com and several other websites serving the U.S and the rest of the World. In the Phoenix, Arizona metropolitan area: Poisoned Pen – Scottsdale; Changing Hands – Tempe; Thunderbird School of Global Management – Glendale; Dog-Eared Pages – Phoenix; Mostly Books – Tucson; Hastings Bookstore – Flagstaff; Boise State University Book Store – Boise, Idaho

To Hear Rico’s interview:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/rrradio/2010/10/27/whats-write-for-me

 MY BAD TEQUILA – Rico Austin

When he got on the bus to Mexico that chilly Idaho morning in the spring of 1986, little did Rico Austin know how the trip would change his life. He envisioned blue water, sandy beaches, sultry amigas and enough tequila and beer to satisfy even the heartiest drinker. What he got was a double shot of reality, more than enough for anyone.

Funny, revealing, thought provoking and, at times, touching, “My Bad Tequila” runs the gamut of emotions, laying Rico’s life bare. One of my favorite incidents is told in Chapter 3 Football Memoirs Part 1. Bronco Stadium at Boise State has blue turf on the football field. Didn’t know that? Neither did I. However, the story of how that came to be is told in “My Bad Tequila”. Yup, you guessed it—all Rico’s fault. It will leave you laughing.

Conversely, the touching story of a special Christmas when Rico’s family was visited by a volunteer from the Salvation Army, will make you cry. There are several spots where the reader will need a few tissues.

When doing a review for a book like “My Bad Tequila”, the impulse is to share too much—to give spoilers. However, doing so with this book would completely ruin it. “My Bad Tequila” must be experienced. And what an experience it is! From start to finish, Austin draws in readers, laying his sins bare, admitting his faults. It is a uniquely penetrating look at the man, his life and his tequila.

I couldn’t put down “My Bad Tequila”. Each chapter compelled me to read until it was gone. Like tequila shots, it leaves you wanting more and more. (Only with no pesky hangover in the morning.) This is a book anyone can enjoy. I came away changed in ways I can’t even describe. It truly is a double shot of reality.

© Dellani Oakes 2011

About dellanioakes

I'm an author with the small e-book publisher - Tirgearr Publishing. I have also independently published "Conduct Unbecoming" a romantic suspense novel. To see all my books, check out the site!

One response »

Leave a Reply

