Wake of the Riddler by Janet Morris

Standard

wake of the riddler graphicI recently found out that not only are my beloved Thieves World books around, but many of the stories have been re-released in expanded format. My favorite character, Tempus Thales, and his infamous Sacred Band, have new stories to tell. Not only that, one of my favorite tales from Sanctuary, The Wake of the Riddler, is also out on Audible! You can listen to a free sample on Amazon:

The Wake of the Riddler at Amazon

 Review – Wake of the Riddler by Janet Morris

Narrated by Alex Hyde-White

I’m delighted to hear this short story after all these years. The Thieves World books are some of the best fantasy every written. Tempus & the Stepsons are incredible characters. I first encountered Thieves World and the city of Sanctuary shortly after I was married. My husband was a fan and owned all the books. I read them avidly and waited for each new edition. We had the entire collection and were so upset when the series ended. I re-read the books quite often and have many of them sitting on the shelves in my bedroom. Some are in boxes, but will be brought out soon to be enjoyed again from the very beginning.

Tempus & his band of Stepsons were immediate favorites in my house. Tempus, also called The Riddler, the character created by Janet Morris, is the ultimate anti-hero. You want to hate him, but you just can’t. Even he can’t cheat his fate, though he tries often enough.

The recording was extremely well done. Alex Hyde White’s voice is perfect for the mood of the story. I was impressed at his ability to convey the characters, including the women, with such skill. Listening to this recording brings the story alive once more and will delight fans.

I’m thrilled to have a taste of Sanctuary back in my life.

Leave a Reply

