About My Reviews

Standard

Dellani Oakes with glassesI’m rather disgusted with some of the book selling sites. Without any warning, they remove my reviews. I have resposted them, but they take them down again. For some reason, they think I am a professional reviewer who is paid for her reviews.

Not true! I don’t charge anything for my reviews. Authors send me copies of their books asking for reviews or I buy a book, pick it up in the library or find it for free on-line. I read and review it. I love to read and, as an author, I know how important reviews are.

Paid reviews aren’t reliable. You might get a great review from it, or you might get a rehash of your back blurb. Most of the authors that I know can’t afford to pay for reviews. I have never charged, nor will I ever charge.

I do give my honest opinion. I will never trash a book. I will say what I don’t like and give a lower rating, but I will never pull a book apart or trash the author’s confidence. There’s no need for that. Hurting someone’s feelings, over a piece of art that they have struggled over, is the worst kind of harassment. Besides, I may hate it and think it’s the worst thing I ever read, another person may think it’s great.

What you see on this page are my opinions, or those of the other reviewers I have allowed to post on my site. None of us are “professional reviewers” as defined by book selling sites. We aren’t paid. We do this for free, from the goodness of our hearts, because we love to read and like to help other authors.

All that being said, I want to assure readers that you will get honest, open reviews about the books we read. Authors will get the same. We strive to post honest opinions, without crushing an ego.

Fran Lewis is a reviewer who posts on my site.

Fran Lewis is a reviewer who posts on my site.

karen vaughan

Karen Vaughan is a reviewer who posts on my site

About dellanioakes

Dellani Oakes writes mostly romantic suspense novels, but she occasionally dives off the deep end into science fiction, fantasy or historical romance. When she isn't writing, she's editing, marketing or hosting her two Blog Talk Radio broadcasts: Dellani's Tea Time – every second Monday from 4-6 PM Eastern, or What's Write for Me – every fourth Wednesday from 4-6 PM Eastern, on Blog Talk Radio. Dellani's newest book, So Much It Hurts, from Tirgearr Publishing, is available now! Dellani can be found on Facebook, Twitter and her personal blog

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: About My Reviews | writemindsauthors

    • Thanks, Rachel. I love reading good books. With a few exceptions (which I won’t mention), I’ve fallen in love with them all. I’ve got some more reviews to share, so will be loading them up soon and scheduling them.

Leave a Reply

