I Love Dialogue from How Far is Heaven

Standard

Dellani Oakes

doodle banner I love dialogueHal Garrow is a struggling musician. He meets Maeve Tierney quite by accident one day, and they hit it off. Their first date is coffee, followed by sandwiches. This is their second date, at a local restaurant where his ex-girlfriend, Stephanie, works. Stephanie is an unusual woman, very up front, boisterous and just shy of crazy.

Stephanie brought their food a few minutes later. The tray was full and she balanced it like a pro. Maeve couldn’t help noticing and asked how long she’d been working as a waitress.

“Oh, I’ve waited tables since I was a kid,” she answered blithely. “My folks have a restaurant that caters to a very trendy crowd. I used to sing and wait tables, all of us did. I have six siblings,” she explained to Maeve. “Hal met my nutty family last Christmas. Crazy as loons, all of them.”

“But fun,” Hal added, cutting…

View original post 612 more words

Leave a Reply

